The Amazing Adventures of Plastic-Free Girl.

Here’s the deal. I’m going plastic-free… for a YEAR.

“You’re what?! Back the train up!” You say. (Or at least, has been the reply I’ve had from most people I’ve told.)

Yes, I’m going plastic-free for an entire year. Why? Because I have to. I’ve been feeling more and more like there’s that proverbial gun being held to my head – to all of our heads, in fact. Did you know that every single piece of plastic ever made is still here? It’s overloading our landfills and turning our ocean into a 21st century-style of soup. It’s killing animals and poisoning our children. Our grandparents are the last generation to see the ocean the way it was initially made – plastic-free. Our children will likely *never* see the ocean without plastic in it and I certainly never have, either.

I can no longer be an observer, standing by quietly while pleading blissful ignorance to the problems of the world. I need to do something.

I’m not a great writer, nor am I especially well-spoken (or outspoken) about my beliefs; but here I will try to be all three, to some extent or another. Over the next few months, I will be researching, purging and planning for my year of no plastics, which will officially begin on January 1, 2011. Hopefully I can shed some light on the cause and show how our need for ease and convenience is killing our planet.

Stick around for more Amazing Adventures of Plastic-Free Girl!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

