What’s for dinner?

My friends are playing Devil’s Advocate and bringing up every item that I couldn’t possibly get without plastic. Tampons? Make-up? Deodorant? Check, check, check. (And these I’ll talk about later.) But the biggest question that I’ve had for myself has been about food.

I have a number of food issues. These are:

1. Vegetarian. I don’t eat land or water animals and rely on nuts, seeds, soy products, etc, for my protein. Unlike a lot of vegetarians, I *love* those products that look and taste like “real meat” but are actually made from soy, veggies, nuts, seeds or some other non-meat ingredients… and most, if not all, of them come wrapped in plastic. So, those are out, unless I can find some packaged differently (so far no luck).

I’m going to consider bringing fish info my diet. This will be hard for me emotionally but I think as long as I’m not eating farmed fish, if I’m getting it from a reputable source, etc, I can make it work. I’m going to do some more research here but this may be my only option to get my protein.

2. Wheat and dairy sensitivities. In addition to not eating meat, I can’t have dairy. You can buy cow’s milk in glass jars but soy, hemp, rice and almond milk all come in tetra-packs. Tetra-packs are coated in plastic and have a little plastic cap. So, those are out. I’m going to try making my own milk! I have a recipe for soy milk and I could make a big jug of it for only a few dollars. I’ll have to figure out where to buy soy nuts, though.

As for the wheat sensitivity, bread won’t be a problem because there’s a rice bakery nearby where I can get fresh bread that isn’t packaged. For flour I use barley and I buy that in a paper, plastic-free bag. The issue is pasta; I LOVE pasta! I currently buy rice pasta that comes in a plastic bag and I’m not sure where to find wheat-free pasta in bulk. I’ll have to look around some more for that.

3. Hypoglycemia. As a hypoglycemic, I can’t have a lot of sugar and need to use an alternative. I generally use agave nectar (which comes in a plastic bottle) or one of those powdered sweeteners. Do they come in bulk? Again, something I’ll have to look into more.

I’m going to have to start cooking a *lot* more. I tend to be pretty lazy when it comes to cooking! I think I’m going to try to make large batches of things and freeze them. I’ll just have to be more creative and find some good and easy recipes.

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s for dinner?

  1. Kim says:

    Sounds like you’ve got an interesting year ahead! Let me know if there is anything I can do to help.

    About the sweeteners…Splenda comes in a cardboard box and is in individual paper wrapped packets. I’m not sure how you feel about Splenda though, a lot of people are on the fence.

  2. Thanks Kim! Good point about Splenda… I actually don’t mind Splenda; there’s no aspartame and I don’t use it nearly enough to worry about the chlorine. That said, I wonder if the box is coated in plastic? I’ll have to look into it.

  3. What about buying the nuts/seeds in bulk, but instead of the plastic they provide, bringing brown paper bags?

    • Thanks, Monica! The problem is, I can’t actually find soy nuts that aren’t already dried. I don’t use plastic bags anyway – I have some very fine, mesh bags that I use for produce and bulk items. If you can suggest anyone that may sell them, feel free! I’m lost!

  4. jen says:

    Looking forward to following your project! I believe you can get agave in glass jars at Dollar Grocers on Commercial and 7th. Probably rice pasta in bulk there too. Why can’t the soy beans be dried? I have made soy milk before by soaking the bulk beans over night and then boiling.

    • Thanks Jen! I had no idea you could use dried soy beans. Any suggestions on where to buy them? I’m in Kits and haven’t been able to find them around here yet. I’ll check Dollar Grocers for agave and rice pasta. I’m always looking for new ideas on places to shop!

Leave a Reply

