Plastic-free bread.

Okay, so I’m slowly getting over my little pout from Thursday. Still feeling like it’s all somewhat pointless, but I can’t bring myself to get off this train. I think I’ve set my path.

The new problem I’m having is – as expected – food. I spent quite a bit of time going to various wheat-free bakeries in Vancouver this weekend and have had no luck finding wheat-free bread that’s not wrapped in plastic! There’s a great gluten-free bakery in Victoria, Origin, that sells awesome, fresh, wheat-free bread the same way a regular bakery does – unwrapped and sitting on the shelf, waiting to be put into a paper or cloth bag when purchased.

For some reason, Vancouver has neither the quantity nor the quality of gluten-free bakeries that Victoria has. Any suggestions?

Oh, and I also happened to stumble upon an awesome bulk food store called Kea on Main Street (at 10th). It has pretty much any dry bulk food I could want, including a large variety of wheat-free pastas! My only complaint is that there aren’t any bulk liquids… but I’m still going to keep an eye open for places that sell those so again, suggestions are welcomed!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

