Making soy milk.

Over the weekend I happened upon a really great bulk food store called Kea, on Main Street at 10th (for any of you who happen to live in Vancouver). They sell pretty much any bulk food you could want, including hard-to-find-in-bulk items like barley flour (which I *love*), corn starch (for deodorant), gluten-free pasta, etc. (My only issue with the store is that they don’t have a bulk liquids section!)

Anyway! As you know, I can’t eat cow’s dairy, so my options seemed pretty limited when it came to plastic-free soy milk… or so I thought!! I finally found soy beans!! Kea had a big bin of them at a decent price. I happened to have my reusable produce/bulk bags on me (something I really have to work on remembering), so I filled it half-way with soy beans for only $2! Yeah!

So, tomorrow morning I’m going to put my soy beans into a bowl to soak for eight hours while I’m at work. When I get home I’ll attempt to make my soy milk!! It looks pretty easy, according to directions I’ve found online, and at this price ($2 for a pound or two), who can complain?

I’ll post again once I’ve made my soy milk, but I was just really excited so had to post about it now. Ha. Fingers crossed!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

