Believe it or not…

Believe it or not, I really do have a life that has nothing to do with plastic! (Or, should I say, plastic-free.) Am I allowed to write about stuff on here that has nothing to do with plastic? Well, I suppose it’s my blog, so I can if I want!

Christmas is right around the corner! Normally I’m not really into Christmas. It just never really *feels* like Christmas used to when I was a kid. But this year, for who-knows-what reason, I’ve got a major dose of the Christmas spirit! I don’t know what’s come over me! I’m so happy to see the decorations in store windows, to hear carols playing in the coffee shop, etc. I’ve already got my Christmas lights up and have watched a few Christmas movies!

Today was supposed to be the opening day of the Vancouver Christmas Market (unfortunately there was a fire this morning that has pushed opening ceremonies back until next week). The VCM is a traditional German Christmas market. Vendors are coming from Germany as well as the German community around BC. I can’t wait!

I have a slight obsession with German stuff. I love the food, the language, the architecture, the culture, the movies, the traditions… I have a deep interest in WWII (although that probably comes more from my interest in Jewish history), but I’m sure you know that my loyalties are *not* with the German government on that matter! This winter I am finally going to take German language lessons. I’ve wanted to do this for years but for one reason or another, it’s never happened.

People always ask me about my interest in German films, language, etc. I think it’s most likely because of my heritage (my family is German, as anyone can tell by my obviously-German surname). I remember this interest as far back as grade six when I started learning about Germany at school.

So, this interest in Germany is probably why I’m so stoked for Christmas and the German Christmas Market here in Vancouver! I’m bummed about the delayed opening, but hopefully this time next week I’ll be enjoying Christmas carols, lights, brataepfel (baked apples with vanilla sauce, cinnamon and raisins) and Feuerzangenbowle (sugar flambéed with rum and dripped into mulled wine).

PS – I’ll be taking my own bottle, glass straw, dish and cutlery so as to avoid any waste, plastic or otherwise!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Believe it or not…

  1. Clara says:

    Sounds fun, Steph. I guess you can’t take any pics right now, bummer. I’d like to see what it looks like, it sounds really neat.

    I have theories on why you might suddenly be feeling Christmas-y….

    • Hey Clara! One of my friends who I’m going with has a nice camera, so I’ll get her to take some photos that I can put up! I know, I was thinking about all the cool photos I could take with my new SLR, but I have to wait until after Christmas to buy it… 😦

      And let’s hear these theories!! 😉

      • Clara says:

        Err well for me they have to do with everything to do with nesting and being in my 30s, you know, THAT biological phenomenon. I can’t help it. My body is making me want a puppy. And cook for everyone. And decorate the house like we had kids though we don’t. See what I’m getting at?

        Will you be posting about computers and cameras and exceptions-to-the-rules etc here? I’m curious to see how that’ll work and what your thinking is for next year. PS I’m rooting for you!

      • That actually makes sense! Okay, so I totally don’t want kids but I’m in such a great place in my life right now at a school I love with awesome kids in my class and everything outside of work is great as well. So maybe it’s just that everything is finally exactly the way I like it!

        Yep, I will definitely post about those things! My plastic-free-ness really only relates to short-term and single-use plastics as opposed to things like laptops, tvs, cameras, etc, that are used for years and years. That said, things like kettles, coffee makers, clocks, etc, are extended-use plastics AND come in plastic-free versions as well. It’ll totally depend on the item, but I’ll definitely write about it!

        And thanks so much for the rooting!! (Umm… wait…) 😉

  2. Clara says:

    Ah thanks, somehow I had missed about the short-term use items. Not sure how! That explains it. I was wondering how the blog would continue 😉

Leave a Reply

