Things with plastic that are worth saving for.

I’m listening to a wicked new Christmas song by Vince Vaccaro (Little Drummer Boy – my favourite Christmas song ever) and the instrumentals suddenly made me think about stuff that requires plastic, such as classical guitars and, at times, djembes.  (FYI – Classical guitars use nylon strings, whereas acoustic guitars use steel strings. Classical guitars are, in my opinion, the better of the two! Not that I can play either, but that’s totally beside the point…)

That made me think about a question that I’ve been getting from a lot of people: What about televisions, cell phones, cars, classical guitar strings, etc??

Well, obviously we can’t free ourselves completely of plastic. We live in the day and age where anything and everything is made from plastic and to a certain extent we just have to deal with it. To get the message straight, my major issue is with short-use plastics and not long-term-use plastics!

That means that shampoo bottles and plastic razors are out, but cameras and laptops are in. I’ve been wanting to buy a new Canon SLR and am saving my pennies to do so in the new year. Yes, it has plastic parts; however, I do plan on using the camera for years to come and have no plans to replace it until it dies and can’t be brought back from the great beyond. So, I say that this is okay. (While I would love to continue using my old 1973 Canon SLR, I don’t like the idea of film canisters and the cost of printing everything.)

Also, I want to buy a new djembe. Where’s the problem there, you ask? Well, I’m kinda against the fact that the skin is animal hide… But if you get the non-animal kind, then (a) you sacrifice the sound quality and (b) it’s made from plastic. What to do, what to do…

So anyway, just wanted to straighten that one up!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things with plastic that are worth saving for.

  1. carmel maher says:

    Doesn’t it matter that the goat was butchered for food and that the djembe skin is a by-product? Also guitars, even very crappy ones, last for years and years and are nearly always passed along to others. Final point…..drumroll please…..it’s impossible to fire a gun while playing an instrument! Merry Christmas Plastic Girl!!

  2. Haha! Yes, that’s my point – that guitars, djembes, laptops, cameras, etc, are all made to last for years and not be thrown out after a few minutes or days or months.

    Okay, now I’m trying to think of what instrument you can play with one hand while firing a gun with the other… Nope, can’t think of one. Merry Christmas to you, too, Carmel!!

Leave a Reply

