Surfrider and the one where Stephanie explains herself.

I realized I have yet to discuss my journey to deciding to go plastic-free. So, here it is!

About a year ago, I joined an organization called Surfrider Foundation. I like volunteering and was looking around for a group to volunteer with. Over the two years prior, I’d volunteered with UBC Model UN, Co-Development Canada, Oxfam, BC SPCA, etc etc etc. I just hadn’t found anything I was really passionate about.

I’ve always been really interested in environmental issues, so I did some research and found a few local organizations that seemed interesting. I contacted them and narrowed it down to two, finally deciding on Surfrider Vancouver.

It actually took me two months to work up the nerve to go to one of the meetings! For some reason, I thought everyone at the meeting would be old hat and everyone would have been volunteering for years. When I finally went to a meeting in January, I left feeling totally stoked! It was a great group of people with an awesome message. After the group meeting, everyone broke out into various committees and I sat in on the Rise Above Plastics session. That’s where I first met Taina Uitto of Plastic Manners and where the idea of living without plastics first entered my mind.

Over the past few months, I had conversations about plastic with one person after another (Taina; Hugh, Ryan and Bryson of OceanGybe; and Stiv Wilson of 5 Gyres) and finally, after a passionate conversation with Stiv at dinner in Seattle one night, I decided I had to do something. But what?

The only answer was to go plastic-free.

Is this going to be difficult? Yes. Is it going to be impossible? No. Can you do it, too? Yes! I don’t expect other people to do what I’m doing overnight. It took me eight months to finally decide to go plastic-free. I had to learn about the truth of recycling, the stats of where our plastic ends up and how we’re wrecking our planet before I made this decision.

But please consider doing the research. Follow my blog and others. Join an environmental organization (how about becoming a Surfrider member?). I bet that in a few months, you’ll be following in my (and others’) footsteps!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Rise Above Plastics, Surfrider and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surfrider and the one where Stephanie explains herself.

  1. Hi Stephanie. Welcome to the plastic-free club. When I saw your comment on Fake Plastic Fish, I was going to ask if you knew Taina, but I just got my answer. I’ll add Plastic-Free Girl to my blogroll. I hope you’ll keep on commenting on Fake Plastic Fish. Our numbers are growing.

    • Hi Beth! Yep, I’ve known Taina for about a year now! She was, as you read, one of the big influences on my decision. I’ve been reading your blog for a while and always mean to post and I’m sure I’ll have lots of questions as I begin my journey! Thanks for sharing my blog in your blog-roll; I think the readers/comments will help me stick to my resolution. 🙂

Leave a Reply

