Back to basics.

So far, every thought or question about the upcoming year seems to be about what I won’t be able to do or have. But what about the things that will be possible, the things a convenience-based society hasn’t allowed me?

For the past year or so, I’ve had this feeling that something was missing in my life. When I went to Firemaker (a primitive skills summer camp for grown-ups) this past summer, I felt like I’d found what was missing:

1. A feeling of true community; and

2. Back-to-basics living.

I think that going plastic-free is going to free me from the convenience-based society we live in and that I feel somehow strangled by. There’s no connection to the earth or life around us. Getting rid of plastics means getting rid of the fast, easy way of living. It means going back to a time when people grew their own food, cooked from scratch, took time to truly be in the moment…

That’s what I’m looking forward to… being in the moment, living with my whole heart and being instead of always looking for the easy way to do things in order to move more quickly to the next thing.

Going back to basics. Living life.

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

