New Year’s Eve…

By this time tomorrow I will officially be on Day One of my plastic-free year! Today I went out and bought a bunch of plastic-less stuff for my home. I got new drinking glasses (my old ones are mostly broken), a stainless steel grater, four stainless steel cooking utensils, two glass jugs and a new mat for the floor of my kitchen. I also got a leather bench! It’s one of the storage types that is also a coffee table. It’s a bit massive in my living room but I love it anyway.

I got some white flannel and am making “cotton balls.” I cut 2″ x 2″ squares and stitched around the edges. They can be used just the same way as cotton balls but without having to buy the ones in the plastic bag at the drug store. And, I got some light muslin to make bags to use for bulk things like flours, sugars, etc.

The other day I finally found the charger for my camera! Now I’ll be able to share photos of… whatever I want to share photos of!

Oh! I also ordered a book online called Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen. The recipes look really incredible – easy and healthy using whole foods (ie: unprocessed). They’re all gluten-, dairy- and egg-free! The majority of the recipes are meatless as well. (There are only 20 pages of meat recipes out of the 440 page book.) When I ordered the book, I asked them to not put any plastic packaging with it, so we’ll see how it arrives!

Happy new year!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Books, Food, Made It Myself and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Year’s Eve…

  1. YAY!! Stephanie. GOOD LUCK. I’ll be following your blog, looking for tips and interested in your experience of living plastic free in a plastic world.

    side note: I use big glass jars with metal lids to store all my bulk foods. I get the VERY large olive or pickle jars they get in deli’s and such. You could check with your local deli or grocery store as they go through these jars quite quickly (I know cause that is where I got a lot of mine, when I worked at a deli)

  2. I am not afraid to use glass! Even for camping, bike riding etc…. Check out http://glassinstead.com a new site that will evolve on this topic.

    I totally applaud your mission!

Leave a Reply

