Day 1 and the WISH Drop-In Centre.

My plastic-free challenge has officially begun and Day One was a success!! I went to Starbucks with my reusable (glass) tea mug, went to Chapters but didn’t buy anything (and if I had, I’d brought my reusable bag just in case) and then had dinner with a friend where I had no left-overs.

Okay, so it was a pretty easy day! I expect things will likely become more difficult as I go on, but I am happy to say that so far, so good.  🙂

I also want to say a huge THANKS to everyone who’s supporting me on this journey! I’ve already had a few emails and texts saying “good luck”, which is hugely appreciated! This is why I decided to tell everyone and write this blog – because I know that you’re watching and I need that support!

Oh! Before I go, I meant to tell everyone that the Lululemon Lab on W. Broadway at Cambie is currently accepting donated new AND partially used toiletries. All donated items will be given to the WISH Drop-In Centre. WISH is a really great centre in Vancouver for women who used to work in the sex trade. They do a lot of good here in Vancouver. As you all know, I’m getting rid of all my plastic toiletries. I gave most of them to friends but I have lots more than are unopened and didn’t know what to do with them. Tomorrow I’m going to take them down to the Lulu Lab to donate. If you live in Vancouver, please consider doing the same! These women are brave and need our support to reintegrate themselves into society.

Again, thank you and happy new year!!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 1 and the WISH Drop-In Centre.

  1. mrose says:

    Plastic-free girl! Another plastic-free Vancouverite! I see you’ve found Taina – she’s so inspiring! I assume you’re making the rounds on other plastic free blogs. I ❤ Beth Terry at Fake Plastic Fish.

    My blogging fell by the wayside several months ago, and the plastic use starting slipping too, but I've recommitted in 2011.

    One of my biggest peeves trying to live plastic free is surprise plastic in restaurants. Beware the automatic straw and the pervasive plastic cups for sauces!

    Good luck on your year and let's trade local sources of plastic-free stuff!

    Best,
    margery

    • Thanks, Margery! It’s great to hear from another local plastic-freer. Yep, I’ve known Taina for about a year now and she was the one that got me started on this! I’ll check out your blog and hearing about more resources for local plastic-free stuff is always awesome! Good luck to you this year!

      Stephanie

Leave a Reply

