Day 3 and my first infraction.

I was doing oh-so-well today! I was very productive! I made a new jar of soy milk, I made a bulk bag for flours and I walked to Granville Market to buy bulk stuff and local produce (sans stickers)… which happened to be closed (random, since it’s never closed!), but that’s besides the point.

I made it all the way until 8pm tonight. On Friday, I hurt my neck/shoulders/upper back pretty badly by trying to move my new (heavy, awkward) coffee table from my car in the underground parking up to my third-floor apartment.

I’ve done lots of stretching, used hot packs and cold packs, extra-strength Advil… everything I had on hand and nothing worked. Finally tonight I couldn’t put up with it anymore so I walked up to the drug store and bought a blister pack of “muscle and back pain relief” pills.  😦

My rule was that my health is my health and that’s above my plastic challenge, but I still feel like a failure! It’s only day 3! And I hate muscle relaxants because they wipe me right out and don’t get rid of the problem anyway. (I’d like to see an acupuncturist but I have to wait for an appointment.) So chances are I’ll only take the one I just took and then I won’t even use the rest of the pack.

Hopefully it’s worth it…  😦

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 3 and my first infraction.

  1. Jenny says:

    BTW Granville Island market is closed every Monday in January for their big, once-a-year clean.
    Don’t be too discouraged by your infraction. You have to stay healthy and preferably mobile! Back pain SUCKS! Good luck on Day 4.

    • Thanks Jenny! Yeah, I saw that on the door when I got there! Boooo! Well, seems that two of those Robax things actually worked so let’s hope I don’t have to buy anything else… although, I’d prefer something herbal over this chemical crap, so we’ll see if I can get away with not buying anything else!

  2. george says:

    Chin up, Plastic-Free Girl. Even if it’s not possible for any of us to be totally plastic-free in this society, you’re still an inspiration to us all.

Leave a Reply

