Week one down and my first real success.

I’ve started to write a “week one complete” post about seven or eight times now, but I really have no idea what to say! It was a fairly insignificant week. I had one slip-up because I had to buy Robax for my little neck/back injury that happened on New Year’s Eve.

Otherwise, avoiding buying anything at all seems to have solved my plastic problems!

Obviously, general avoidance of any purchases at all isn’t a habit I can continue. I’ll have to buy something some time and when I do, I’ll have to make some choices. For example, I was in a store last night where they had the most brilliant pair of earrings I have ever seen; however, they were on a plastic tag. I thought to myself, “it’s just a tiny card. I guess that’s not really a big deal.” I took them off the rack and started towards the check-out.

And then I realized that this plastic-free challenge means NO plastics, big or small. Not just the common daily things like straws and wrapping around DVDs, but also little things like stickers on produce and earring tags.

That was my big revelation and I sadly (but with a greater feeling of empowerment) hung the earrings back on the rack. My first real success, I think!

Other than that, my week has been long and had lots of other ups and downs that aren’t appropriate for this blog! I think that’s put me into a “mood” and probably why I’m not really interested in writing much lately. But, I’m still here and still love and appreciate all the support you guys are giving me, so thanks! Week one down and just fifty-one to go!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week one down and my first real success.

  1. carmel maher says:

    Because of your efforts I’m in discussion with Bulk Barn here trying to find out why they won’t allow me to bring my own containers when I buy there. I just assumed that I could and ended up humiliated and berated by a pimply faced teenager acusing me of contaminating the bins while other customers looked on. I’m going to keep writing til I get a proper answer and in the meantime will get the things that I need from the local Mom&Pop natural food shop. Thank-you Steph.

  2. I love Bulk Barn for what they are but hate this rule. (We don’t have them here in BC still, but I know the store from when I was in Ottawa for a couple of years.) I’ve got a few friends who were given the same lecture you were. This is their company policy and something they drill into their employees, so the employees naively believe it’s true. No other bulk store that I’ve been to has any problem with me using my own bags. Hopefully if enough people start taking a stand, they’ll change their policies. So thank YOU, Carmel.

Leave a Reply

