Day 12.

I’ve had one more infraction to report on since day 3. I’m a huge oatmeal fan. I’ve eaten oatmeal for the majority of my breakfasts for as long as I can remember. However, after doing a few experiments over the past few weeks, I’ve discovered that my oats must have gluten in them because I appear to be having reactions after eating oatmeal for breakfast!

Unfortunately, the only oats I’ve found that can claim 100% to be gluten-free are ones that are pre-packaged in plastic. So, those are out! I decided to make a big batch of rice pudding to have for breakfast during the week but needed vanilla. All the lids were the same size (small) so I figured at least I could minimize the plastic by at least getting the largest glass bottle of vanilla that the store had.

Is it possible to find vanilla (or other extracts) without a plastic lid?

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 12.

  1. Kim says:

    you can make your own! Just have to buy a vanilla bean from some plastic fee source and I think add some form of alcohol and let it sit in a jar for a bit? Heres one website, but I’m sure there are many other ways…
    http://chocolateandzucchini.com/archives/2009/02/homemade_vanilla_extract.php

  2. In terms of gluten free oats…if memory serves there is a gluten free processing plant that processes oats somewhere in the lower main land. They are a small plant and it may be possible to buy directly from them to avoid the plastic.
    I do some research and see if I can find more info about the company for you…

  3. carmel maher says:

    This looks like a good place to get what you want and it’s canadian!
    http://kitchenware.goldaskitchen.com/search?w=vanilla&asug=&x=0&y=0

    …..or make your own:

    How to Make Vanilla Extract

    Commercial vanilla extract usually has simple syrup (sugar water) added to the extract to give it a sweet aftertaste. You can do this if you want, but if you are using the vanilla for baking, there really is no need.
    Ingredients

    * 3 vanilla beans
    * 1 cup vodka
    * glass jar with tight fitting lid

    Method

    vanilla-extract-1.jpg

    1 Use kitchen scissors or a sharp paring knife to cut lengthwise down each vanilla bean, splitting them in half, leaving an inch at the end connected.

    2 Put vanilla beans in a glass jar or bottle with a tight fitting lid (mason jars work well). Cover completely with the vodka.

    3 Give the bottle a good shake every once in a while. Store in a dark, cool place for 2 months or longer.

    Lasts for years. You can keep topping it off with vodka once in a while as you use it, just remember to give it a good shake.

    You can also make vanilla sugar by putting a split vanilla bean into a jar of white, granulated sugar. Great way to infuse the sugar with vanilla flavor for baking.

  4. Thanks ladies! I didn’t know you could make your own that easily. I’ll give it a shot when my bottle is empty!

    Brie – if you’re able to find it, let me know! I’m not having much luck myself, but that would be a perfect solution. Thank you!

    • Ok, so I haven’t found the oat supplier yet (I am not sure I was right about there being on in the lower main land) BUT…
      I was in Origins Bakery today (a completely gluten free bakery here in Victoria) and saw that they sold packages of gluten free oats in *paper* packaging. There is a sticker on the back with information, and it looked like one of those paper/plastic mixes (like shiny on the front and sticker-ish) so I am not sure if that would work for you. However, I asked them if they would mail the oats and they said yes!!
      Even if the sticker thing is an issue they still might sell you a big paper bag’s worth without the sticker. Here is there information (they are really wonderful and acomadating people, as I am sure you have to be to run a gluten free bakery!!)
      Origins Bakery
      http://www.originbakery.com/

      Ok, doing research while writing this reply. Here is the supplier for Origins of gluten free oats.
      http://www.onlyoats.ca/
      They are in Saskatchewan and it looks like they sell direct. I didn’t see anything on their site about packaging, but I am assuming it would be the same as I saw at Origins, paper bags.

      Finally, random in my wanderings for gluten free plastic free oats…
      Did you know about this blog?
      http://glutenfree-vancouver.blogspot.com/

      Hope this is all helpful!!

      • Wow Brie, you rock!!! Thanks so much for that info!! I looove Origin, by the way. I always load up on their bread and stuff when I’m on the island. The Vega bread is so good. I’m going to check out the links you sent me and hopefully I can find out where I can get some gluten-free oats. Thanks!!

      • Hehe, your welcome.
        I’m not studying to be a researcher for nothing!!!

Leave a Reply

