The Toiletry Emergency.

I somehow have managed to (within the next couple of days) run out of toothpaste, face cream, shampoo and deodorant all at the same time. My assignment for this weekend will be to make all of the above!

Deodorant, however, is going to wait for a bit. My parents gave me a Lush deodorant bar for Christmas so I can start using that now. I still haven’t quite figured out how to use it. It’s a hard bar so it doesn’t really rub off onto your skin. Do I need to use water with it? I’ll have to check out Lush to see what the scoop is.

(By the way, at some point in the future I’m going to try making my own deodorant using one part baking soda to six parts cornstarch. The baking soda deodorizes while the cornstarch acts as an antiperspirant.)

I’m going to Lush for my shampoo because I like their shampoo bars. I’ve heard about using a variety of homemade shampoos like a simple mixture of baking soda and water, but my skin has always been really particular about what I can put on it and what I can’t and that, unfortunately, won’t do the trick.

So, my problems are face cream and toothpaste. I’ve found a bunch of face cream recipes but they all seem to have 100 ingredients that each cost an arm and a leg. Any suggestions? I’d love suggestions on making inexpensive toothpaste as well.

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Made It Myself and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Toiletry Emergency.

  1. All you need for cream is oil, wax, and water.
    I like to use almond oil for face cream (olive oil is too heavy), and beeswax. Making cream is tricky and is kinda like making mayonasie (oil into water idea).

    My basic cream recipie
    1 cup water (you can add essentail oils to this water, or make a floral water too)
    1 cup oil (you can make hearbal oils by steeping herbs in the warmed oil for a few hours)
    3 tablespoons of wax
    Melt the wax into the oil (on low heat). Put the mixutre into the blender to cool. You can use a hand blender to blend it, but trust me you have to work CRAZY hard/fast when you use a hand blender to get the cream to blend. When the oil is cool (not cold, or it will harden) turn the blender on high and start to add the water (not all at once). When the cream turns into cream (you’ll see it happen, and your blender will slow down) turn the blender off and add the rest of the water by whipping it by hand. The cream will thicken when it cools completely in jars.
    Good Luck!!!

    • Brie, have I told you lately that you ROCK?? I’m going to try that recipe this weekend for sure! It’s way easier than the ones I’ve found online.

      (PS – It would be awesome to have some workshops on stuff like this at Firemaker this year! Or maybe we had one this past summer and I missed it because of my bow obsession?)

  2. Jen CleanBin says:

    Just found you via plastic manners and looking forward to catching up!
    Toothpaste. Not lovely and frothy like the store bought kind, but really cheap and easy, and my dentist says it’s ok as long as you aren’t getting new cavities in which case you need to add a little fluoride.

    1 part salt, 6 parts baking soda, a couple drops peppermint oil (extract works but not as well). You can use this as “tooth powder” or add glycerin or water to make it a paste -you can get glycerin in glass bottles at Famous Foods.

    • Thanks, Jen! It’s great to connect with other locals doing similar projects. (PS – Saw your film a few months ago downtown; it’s great!)

      That recipe sounds really easy. I’ll pick up some peppermint oil and try it out! Thank you!

  3. Melissa says:

    Thanks! This has inspired me to test out the clean bin toothpaste recipe–something that’s been on my to-do list for a while! I still have some face cream to use up–b/c to tell the truth, I hardly ever actually remember to use it–but that’s next!

Leave a Reply

