Day 22 and another success.

Three weeks plastic-free and I have a success to write about. Maybe nobody else will care about this, but to me it’s a big deal.

Before our parent evenings at school, the staff gets dinner paid for since we can’t go home after the end of the school day. Sometimes we go out to a nearby restaurant but for this week’s parent night, the majority voted to order sushi.

Of course, this posed a problem for me as sushi restaurants, for some reason, use a ridiculous amount of plastic. I thought about what I should do for a few days before the sushi night. Should I bring my own dinner? Should I accept the plastic and bring it home, adding it to my “Sin Bin”?

Another teacher was going to put in the order so I finally decided to ask her (A) not to order my meal on the phone and (B) to let me go with her so I could order at the restaurant, where I could give them my stainless steel containers to use.

I also asked them not to put my container into a plastic bag (it has its own handle even then I have cloth bags) and not to include any soy sauce (which technically I can’t have anyway because of the gluten).

I feel very proud of myself! Not a big deal but it really did take me a few days to decide what to do and I feel happy that I stood up for myself and said I wouldn’t accept the plastic containers. I think this is a big step forward for me.  🙂

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Eating Out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 22 and another success.

  1. Yiiipppeeee!!! YAaaaaaYY!!! Jump around happy dance.
    Little sucesses that mean something big to you are always the ones that keep ya going and let you know you are on the right path.
    Congrats on your little “big” triumph over plastic!!

  2. jenefun says:

    I am super proud! I am gonna get a stainless steel lunch box like yours. I saw them at the Organic Market in Langley.

    Also I did a little big thing too! They were offering tea samples at the market and I wanted one but didn’t wanna take the disposible cup, so I went to the car and got my travel mug and asked for the sample in that. 🙂

    You woulda been so proud! 🙂

  3. Monica says:

    Totally a big deal! I’m just half a week into my 2 week challenge of going plastic free so I’ve been snooping around other people’s blogs 🙂 I enjoy the honesty in yours!

    • Stephanie says:

      Thanks for the note, Monica! I’ve been a bit (lot) lax on my blogging, I hate to say… but hopefully this fall I’ll have the time to update it a bit! I’ll be sure to check out yours. Good luck with your challenge! I definitely have a hard time with it sometimes and have had lots of “fails”, but I still think it’s the way to go!!

Leave a Reply

