Plastic money.

Just a quick post today, but I read an article tonight about Canada’s new plastic money that will begin circulating later this year. $100 and $50 bills come out in November and $5, $10 and $20 bills will come out in 2013.

I can’t say how I feel about this. On one hand, plastic bills last significantly longer than the current cotton paper bills. Australia uses plastic bills and you can’t tear them the way you can rip a Canadian bill. So in the long-run it’ll be cheaper to produce the money and therefor more environmentally friendly to produce. (Energy use, etc.)

Then again, they’re plastic.

But… is this really that big of a deal? I mean, I’m mainly complaining about single use plastics and the new bills definitely aren’t single use. Yes, they’ll eventually wear out, but things like computers, phones and appliances wear out as well. At least they’ll be used for years before that happens.

I think this time the benefits outweigh the negatives and I’m all for the plastic money. Am I the only one?

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plastic money.

  1. Mark says:

    I think this would be a great idea only IF they plan on using 100% recycled, post-consumer plastic for the bills. Do you happen to know if that is the case?

    • Stephanie says:

      Hi Mark. I wasn’t able to find any more info on this after that one post so I can’t say if they’re using post-consumer plastic… I’m still leaning towards the pro side on this, but like I said I haven’t really seen much on it since the spring. If I do, I’ll be sure to post it!

Leave a Reply

