Back at it!

I’ve been slacking the past few months and figured that maybe getting back to my blogging might help me to get back on track! I admit I haven’t been living as plastic-free as I’d like to be. My big problems are toiletries, food and medicines.

Medicine/first aid was one of the things I was going to forgive myself for. My health needs to be above the mission. In an effort to move further away from plastic packaging (and western medicine in general), I’ve applied and been accepted to an 8-month Herbal Integration program, where I’ll study plants and learn how to use them to make various medicines and first aid supplies for my own apothecary!

Food is an on-going problem… being vegetarian, gluten-free and dairy-free (the latter two due to allergies) and the fact that I hate cooking means I’m buying a lot of things that come packaged – gluten-free pasta, dairy-free cheese, etc – that I can’t find unpackaged. I’m working on this!

And lastly the toiletries. I use a wooden/natural bristle toothbrush, refillable tooth soap (glass bottle), bar shampoo, etc. But other things have been a problem! Today I went to the Soap Dispensary and bought bulk shea butter, cocoa butter and unrefined beeswax (the latter for candles). The cocoa butter and beeswax were put into paper bags and I bought a 1-L mason jar for the shea butter. I’m planning on making body butter and shaving cream this weekend! I picked up a bunch of different containers for these things and the candles.

So! Back on the train and hopefully 2013 will be more intentionally plastic-free. Hopefully I’ll be writing some more posts and of course will post the recipes if they work out!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back at it!

  1. Melissa says:

    I’d love to hear more about how it goes on the packaging front with gluten-free and vegetarian. Our family of five is trying to avoid plastic. We had been doing pretty well — although we are vegetarian — partly because in fact I do enjoy cooking so buying things in bulk and cooking and baking from scratch works well for us. But just this week we found out that at least one family member is gluten intolerant. My initial foray to the store for supplies, and my initial reading on the subject, is not encouraging on the avoiding plastic front… Now I am reading that we should be concerned about cross-contamination in bulk stores, so I just don’t know what I’ll do!

Leave a Reply

