Dental issues

I just went to the dentist and apparently my plastic-free dental hygiene isn’t cutting it. Two years ago I started using a natural toothbrush and various types of natural toothpaste. I absolutely love my natural toothbrush! It softens up nicely over a few uses and of course there’s no plastic in it (except for the plastic wrapped around the head for delivery).

I’ve tried a few different toothpastes over the past couple of years. I’ve made my own using a variety of recipes and lately I’ve been using a refillable tooth soap.

I guess that these things aren’t making the cut and it was “strongly recommended” that I stop using what I’ve been using and get (A) an electric toothbrush and (B) regular toothpaste. So until I figure out something that works and gets my teeth clean to the standard I’d expect, guess I’m going back to a plastic-filled dental routine. 😦

Any suggestions for something that actually works??

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dental issues

  1. carmel maher says:

    This is a pretty serious situation for you Steph as you are well aware. Your health can be compromised by the condition of your mouth. To prevent disease you may have to go to a recycled toothbrush alternative.
    http://myplasticfreelife.com/2011/05/eco-friendly-toothbrush-review-and-giveaway/
    I was looking at these pellets just the other day while visiting Robin in Halifax.
    http://www.lushusa.com/on/demandware.store/Sites-Lush-Site/en_US/Search-Show?q=toothpaste
    Good Luck Sweetie!

    • Stephanie says:

      Thanks, Carmel! I ended up buying an electric toothbrush. I’ve tried a few other natural/recycled toothbrushes before and apparently they aren’t doing the trick. Not what I wanted to do but I’ve said the whole time that health has to come first. I’ll definitely check out Lush for those toothpaste pellets!! I haven’t seen those before.

  2. Gillie says:

    I’m just starting down the plastic free route and have been using a Phillips Sonicare toothbrush for a year or so. I have noticed a massive improvement in the clean feeling of my teeth (you can tell I’m not a dentist!) so that has been something I have been worried about. My dentist has recommended Corsodyl Daily toothpaste which, as far as I can see, is relatively low in unecessary extras. But it comes in a …. plastic tube……….

  3. Erin says:

    Hi Steph, I just found your blog. I am a plastic free devotee too. I have yet to run out of my toothpaste and when i do i will be looking for packaging friendly alternative. I have read that oil pulling (http://wellnessmama.com/7866/oil-pulling-for-oral-health/) is a great way to avoid plaque build up and all round great for health. Good luck and looking forward to seeing how it goes.

    • Stephanie says:

      Hi Erin, I know all about pulling! It’s gross and takes a significant amount of time… but if you can stand it, go for it! I’ve had to go back to regular toothpaste for the past six months or so because my tooth soap isn’t doing the trick. It’s very frustrating!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Hiya, there’s a couple of things I’d suggest: 1 – Floss! Where the brushes can get to aren’t nearly as important as the floss, as that’s where the plaque buildup occurs. 2 – Drink more water! This’ll help reduce the bacteria and acids in your mouth. 3 – brush after starchy foods that stick to your teeth (potato). Potato crisps are worse than a sugary drink for your teeth (not that I’m suggesting that you are specifically eating crisps and coke!). This is because the drink quickly leaves, but the starchy food remain for bacteria to grow on – and it’s the acid produced by the bacteria that is the problem. I know that this isn’t directly addressing “plastics” but I guess I’d say, don’t give up on the idea of a plastic free toothbrush at a later point. Lastly, if you find that you have a dry mouth (which’d give you bad teeth) or dry eyes, and you are struggling with your health (pain, lethargy), then you *might* have Sjogren’s disease, which is an autoimmune disorder anyone can develop at some point in their life.

Leave a Reply

