New projects – fermentation!

I’ve had poor luck with fermentation projects in the past, but have been increasingly excited to up the ante and get some new homesteading stuff happening in my kitchen! So, I figured now is the time to start.

Today was a beautiful day in Vancouver – lots of sun and warmth, perfect for a trip to the winter farmer’s market! My husband and I drove over there with his daughter and had a gander at all the amazing local produce, cheese, baking, honey, etc. I came home with way more than I had planned to buy (which tends to happen to me at the farmer’s market), but am ready to do some juicing, cook our favourite vegan lasagna for dinner (from the amazing Oh She Glows chef Angela Liddon) and get on with the fermenting.

My first projects will, hopefully, be “easy” ones. I’m a huge fan of kombucha and sauerkraut, so I’m starting there. I’ve made sauerkraut before, with not-so-great results (I’m happy to take tips!!) but kombucha is totally new to me. I picked up a head of cabbage at the farmer’s market, a big jar at the Soap Dispensary and a SCOBY at the Homesteader’s Emporium. (This place, by the way, is pretty amazing! If you live in Vancouver and are into anything even remotely related to homesteading, it’s a must-visit. They even sell do-rags, though what do-rags have to do with homesteading, I have no idea.)

The SCOBY was just propagated a day or two ago so it needs to sit for a week to grow a baby. After that, well… I’m clueless. I’ll do some research and fingers are crossed!

DIY is always a good way to work around single-use packaging. Kombucha, which can cost over $4 for a single bottle at the store, is generally in glass but has a plastic lid. Sauerkraut, while also sold in a glass jar, often has either a plastic lid or a tin lid, which is generally lined with plastic.

Wish me luck! I’m really excited and hopefully will have some good results so I’m motivated to keep going. 😉 Please leave a comment on your experiences making either of these fermentations, or if you have any tips I’d love to hear them!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

