Branching out, making my own.

I like making. Making what, you ask? Stuff. Really anything. I just enjoy making. I don’t feel like I’m all that creative and would probably not refer to myself as artistic (okay, I have in the past, but only because I can copy a pattern and like art). My go-to things to make are fiber art (specifically cross-stitch – which I nerdily love – and various basketry) and a range of medicinal concoctions.

Making your own anything is a really great way to cut back on plastic. The wonderful side effect of making is that, while reducing your plastic consumption, you may simultaneously reduce your chemical consumption.

I’ve mentioned before that I make my own deodorant. I’m not particularly sweaty in general, but can definitely sweat through most antiperspirants. At one point I resorted to using prescription grade stuff for about three years. I now make my own with only three ingredients that works better (seriously) than the clinical stuff.

Two years ago I started making my own sunscreen. I use both an edible sunscreen (for real! Vitamin C and D are brilliant for protecting your skin) and a homemade topical. At first I made a solid bar. Using this bar was like spreading a bar of soap onto dry skin. I used this recipe until a few months ago and then chucked the extra bars and instead made a cream sunscreen. My husband works outside and loves it! It smells amazing.

I make other health products such as salves for sore muscles or cuts and scrapes, medicinal herbal teas, etc. And now I want to branch out. I try to buy mustard and ketchup in glass bottles, but even then the container is rinsed and recycled and it feels so wasteful. Why not make my own? My best friend and I are taking a canning class this summer, another fun homesteading trick I’ve always wanted to learn but been too intimidated by.

I don’t have a phone with a data plan (or that even takes photos) but perhaps this summer I’ll also figure out how to take some photos and upload them here as I go along. Tell me what you’ve been making to get rid of the chemicals and plastic waste in your life!

About Stephanie

I'm a Vancouverite, a free-spirited yogi, an accidental vegan, a tree-hugger, a teacher, an athlete, an artist, a soul rebel and a very, very lucky girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

